Actuarial Outpost

Actuarial Outpost (http://www.actuarialoutpost.com/actuarial_discussion_forum/index.php)
-   Actuarial Exams: United Kingdom / Europe (http://www.actuarialoutpost.com/actuarial_discussion_forum/forumdisplay.php?f=87)
-   -   Has any US actuary ever gone to spain to work? (http://www.actuarialoutpost.com/actuarial_discussion_forum/showthread.php?t=179045)

missactsci 11-02-2009 06:44 PM

Has any US actuary ever gone to spain to work?

I would love to get feedback on this subject. I'm an actuarial analyst looking to move to spain to do the same type of work there. They are short on actuaries and on english speakers so they need people like me but they have a very different system of how to get "in" to being an actuary there. They said I actually could never be an actuary there unless I did an actuarial program in spain.

If anyone has been an actuary in spain, coming from a different country, I would love feedback. Thanks.

ElDucky 11-03-2009 12:21 AM

I know of someone from Mercer in Canada who is doing a rotation there for a few years I think. I think that would be your 'in'. Work at a company where you are that has international rotations.

Gabriel 11-03-2009 05:57 AM

PM Sent

vtek 11-03-2009 08:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ElDucky (Post 4003778)
I know of someone from Mercer in Canada who is doing a rotation there for a few years I think. I think that would be your 'in'. Work at a company where you are that has international rotations.

i may know of the same person

vchagas 12-18-2009 08:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by missactsci (Post 4003320)
I would love to get feedback on this subject. I'm an actuarial analyst looking to move to spain to do the same type of work there. They are short on actuaries and on english speakers so they need people like me but they have a very different system of how to get "in" to being an actuary there. They said I actually could never be an actuary there unless I did an actuarial program in spain.