Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Exams - Please Limit Discussion to Exam-Related Topics > SoA/CAS Preliminary Exams > Exam PA: Predictive Analytics
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

DW Simpson
Actuarial Jobs

Visit our site for the most up to date jobs for actuaries.

Actuarial Salary Surveys
Property & Casualty, Health, Life, Pension and Non-Tradtional Jobs.

Actuarial Meeting Schedule
Browse this year's meetings and which recruiters will attend.

Contact DW Simpson
Have a question?
Let's talk.
You'll be glad you did.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #291  
Old 06-03-2019, 10:20 PM
TranceBrah's Avatar
TranceBrah TranceBrah is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Best Coast
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asb1741 View Post
I am having the same difficulty. How can you use the coefficients of a profit model? The solution says you can do it in excel.
You cannot quantify the effect of your coefficients on your prediction easily like you could with a log or logit link (ie. multiply by exp(beta)).

In q.5 they tell you that the mean function (aka inverse link function) of probit is the CDF of standard normal distribution. So changes in your predictors go into the CDF function and translate into changes for your prediction. Think of it like XB (structural component) = Z scores. Then CDF(Z) = our prediction and we all know this will be between 0 and 1. Just like the good ol days of whipping out that dank Z-table.

They made a fake data frame in R and used the predict function on it to see the new predictions (type="response" --> mean function). You could also do this in Excel with the normal function.
Reply With Quote
  #292  
Old 06-03-2019, 10:32 PM
Američanka Američanka is offline
SOA
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TranceBrah View Post
I'll be doing LPM in Oct. The good thing about PA timing is that you don't need to know your result before deciding to start studying for next exam. If you fail, then you have all of November to study for PA again.
Do you not have to finish all the ASA requirements before taking FSA exams? I'm in the same boat (PA is my last requirement for ASA) but just assumed if I find out that I failed PA I would have wasted time if I'd studied for LPM.
Reply With Quote
  #293  
Old 06-03-2019, 11:14 PM
TranceBrah's Avatar
TranceBrah TranceBrah is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Best Coast
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Američanka View Post
Do you not have to finish all the ASA requirements before taking FSA exams? I'm in the same boat (PA is my last requirement for ASA) but just assumed if I find out that I failed PA I would have wasted time if I'd studied for LPM.
no pre-requirements to write.
Reply With Quote
  #294  
Old 06-04-2019, 10:26 AM
Josh Peck Josh Peck is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
College: Towson University
Posts: 99
Default

Does anyone know if we'll be able to change the r studio theme on the exam?

It's under tools > global options > appearance
__________________
P FM MFE C PA
Reply With Quote
  #295  
Old 06-04-2019, 12:49 PM
WhatsAnActuary8282 WhatsAnActuary8282 is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Studying for PA
College: University of Kentucky Alumni
Posts: 37
Default

Also does anyone know if the ? function for help will be available during the exam. I am struggling with some components of some functions and am relying on that ? a little too much.
__________________
P FM MFE LTAM C PA
Econ VEE Fin VEE Stat VEE
FAP ILA
Reply With Quote
  #296  
Old 06-04-2019, 01:12 PM
Josh Peck Josh Peck is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
College: Towson University
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhatsAnActuary8282 View Post
Also does anyone know if the ? function for help will be available during the exam. I am struggling with some components of some functions and am relying on that ? a little too much.
I don't think I used it last exam so I can't say for sure, but I definitely think it will be available as it's built into the r language
__________________
P FM MFE C PA
Reply With Quote
  #297  
Old 06-04-2019, 02:00 PM
jts75 jts75 is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: May 2018
College: Oklahoma State
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhatsAnActuary8282 View Post
Also does anyone know if the ? function for help will be available during the exam. I am struggling with some components of some functions and am relying on that ? a little too much.
Yes it was available for mine.
Reply With Quote
  #298  
Old 06-04-2019, 02:29 PM
DjPim's Avatar
DjPim DjPim is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: SoCal
Posts: 734
Default

Several times in the modules they show use of gridExtra::grid.arrange() to put multiple plots together--anyone know a good way to control the size of the individual plots within the grid?

As an example, I wrote a loop to replicate the bar chart in the student success sample exam for all similar variables (Medu, Fedu, traveltime, studytime etc.) - 11 variables in total. I'm guessing there's a max size for plots, because if I try to put them all in one grid.arrange with ncol = 2 or 3 or 4, they're all squished down too illegible sizes.

I guess in practice I need to have the plot a size that I can include in a word doc, so it might make sense to just print them all separately and only include important ones, but curious if anyone else has ran into this before or had any solutions/workarounds?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr T Non-Fan View Post
"Cali" SMH.
Reply With Quote
  #299  
Old 06-04-2019, 02:43 PM
DyalDragon's Avatar
DyalDragon DyalDragon is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Here
Studying for the hell of it...
College: AASU
Favorite beer: This one...
Posts: 33,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Peck View Post
Does anyone know if we'll be able to change the r studio theme on the exam?

It's under tools > global options > appearance
I hope so. I don't want to stare at a blinding white screen for 5 hours. Gimme my Vibrant Ink plz
__________________
P FM MFE MLC C Predictive Analytics
VEE FAP FAP FAP FAP FAP FAP FAP FAP APC
Reply With Quote
  #300  
Old 06-04-2019, 02:47 PM
DjPim's Avatar
DjPim DjPim is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: SoCal
Posts: 734
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DyalDragon View Post
I hope so. I don't want to stare at a blinding white screen for 5 hours. Gimme my Vibrant Ink plz
cobalt best theme
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr T Non-Fan View Post
"Cali" SMH.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.26020 seconds with 12 queries