Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Exams - Please Limit Discussion to Exam-Related Topics > SoA/CAS Preliminary Exams > Probability
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Upload your resume securely at https://www.dwsimpson.com
to be contacted when new jobs meet your skills and objectives.

Probability Old Exam P Forum

Old 02-15-2015, 01:38 PM
CAS Non-Actuary

Studying for FM
College: University of Akron
Default Best course of action?

Hello,

I am a freshman taking Calculus II this semester. I did well in Calc I and am doing pretty well in Calc II so far. I see that exam P is offered in mid-late July of this year. I was originally planning to begin studying around May 10th, when I get off of school. This gives me approximately 10 weeks to study. I have nothing going on over the summer, so I could put in many hours a day. Do you think this would work, or should I try to begin maybe in April? Also, what would is generally regarded as the best study manual?
Old 02-15-2015, 02:13 PM
CAS

10 weeks should be enough. Depending on your level of comfort with the material, you can always adjust the number of hours you need to put in each week.

I'd recommend ACTEX study manual + SoA sample questions + TIA free practice exams.
Old 02-15-2015, 02:26 PM
CAS

Didn't use it, but there's also a free guide from Marcel Finan. It should be easy enough to find online.
Old 02-15-2015, 06:38 PM
CAS Non-Actuary

Studying for FM

Okay, thank you! I will look into the manuals you suggested.
Old 02-15-2015, 06:39 PM
CAS

Studying for 1/P
College: St. John's University
Favorite beer: Angry Orchard

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdh22 View Post
I did well in Calc I and am doing pretty well in Calc II so far.