Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Exams - Please Limit Discussion to Exam-Related Topics > SoA/CAS Preliminary Exams > Probability
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

DW Simpson
Actuarial Jobs

Visit our site for the most up to date jobs for actuaries.

Actuarial Salary Surveys
Property & Casualty, Health, Life, Pension and Non-Tradtional Jobs.

Actuarial Meeting Schedule
Browse this year's meetings and which recruiters will attend.

Contact DW Simpson
Have a question?
Let's talk.
You'll be glad you did.

Probability Old Exam P Forum

Old 05-20-2015, 03:19 PM
CAS

College: WNEC
Default Failed exam P, suggestions on study approach

Hello All....

I recently took exam P back in February. I've been out of school 10 years now so I had to refresh myself with much of the material. Then I studied for 3-4 months roughly 15 hours a week. I purchased the Infinite actuary course and really focused on their practice exams and the SOA practice questions. I purchased ADAPT for 2 weeks in which I didn't feel great leading up to the exam as I was stuck around level 3-4.

With that said, I ended up getting a 3. I felt the exam was much, much harder than my study material, especially the SOA 153. I had those down prior to exam. I expected to see more topics also from what I read on here. I felt like exam covered only 40% of what I studied, and a lot of what I was uncomfortable with unfortunately. Any suggestions on how to approach my studying differently for next time?

Appreciate any feedback.
Old 05-20-2015, 03:50 PM
SOA

College: Alumni University of Waterloo

If you could only get to level 3-4 adapt then you likely didn't have the SOA questions down pat the way you needed to. Basically, you had those 153 memorized but lacked the actual knowledge on how you go about getting those answers.