Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Around the World > United Kingdom / Europe > Other Professional Discussions: United Kingdom / Europe
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Search Actuarial Jobs by State @ DWSimpson.com:
AL AK AR AZ CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA
ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NH NJ NM NY NV NC ND
OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY

Old 04-08-2014, 02:20 PM

Default Masters path

Hi, I'm currently studying a BSc in Actuarial Science in the UK system, so that when I graduate, I will have the CT exemptions.

So my question here is, which one of these career paths would be best:

1. Do Masters in Actuarial Management for the rest of the CA, SA and ST exemptions, and then start working; OR
2. Work for a couple of years (if so, how long) and then do Masters after that.

So, some of the things should be put into consideration here would be:
- "Studying momentum" as some would say that once you start working, you 'forget' how to study
- The kinds of salaries each path would offer.
- No worries about making money as soon as possible (but prefer highest yielding option)
- In terms of work experience, I will be doing an internship or two during my BSc.

I'd like to listen to your opinions on those, no sarcastic smart-ass responses please. Thanks in advance!
Old 04-08-2014, 02:53 PM
SOA

You would probably get a better response if you put this in the UK section, or put UK in the title.

Oops, you said no sarcasm, let me try again.

You would get a better response if you put this in the UK section, or put UK in the title.
Old 04-08-2014, 03:05 PM
Defending the AO since 2007
SOA AAA

Studying for GHDPA and GHFVA
College: Hard Knox U.

With a BSc in AS, going straight to work, taking the exams, and skipping the masters will be the highest yielding option.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Statatak View Post