Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Property - Casualty / General Insurance
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Old 08-12-2019, 10:19 AM
CAS

Default Readability of insurance policies

Hi,

I have known for a long time that Florida has a readability statute, 627.4145, requiring a minimum Flesch Test score for every policy. The Flesch test is a formula whose arguments are word count, sentence count, and syllable count. I always wondered, especially in ancient times (the 80's) whether someone manually counted these things. Would you know how your company handles this - do you have internal software for this, or do you contract this task out?

I believe prior to the 80's, there was a 1943 NY standard fire insurance policy that was part of most property policies, that was infamous for having a really long sentence.

I am currently studying text analysis, a subset of data analysis, which has been used among other things to suggest which Beatles songs were primarily written by John and which by Paul. I think I can write some code to perform this Flesch test. Is there a place online where I can find a sample policy, hopefully as a PDF file?

Thanks,
Jerry Tuttle
Old 08-12-2019, 10:29 AM
CAS

Studying for Prostate exam
College: Hard Knocks

I had to do some FL form filing work in the 90s. The old Lotus suite word processor AmiPro had a built in Flesch test algorithm that we used. Looks like there are some free online ones now but I've never used them.
Old 08-12-2019, 03:32 PM
CAS

Googling turns up this:

https://www.insurance.wa.gov/sites/d...nce-policy.pdf
Old 08-12-2019, 03:35 PM
CAS

If you want boilerplate policies I'd look to ISO. A few minutes of googling turned up this: http://www.tmsic.com/pdfs/Commercial...renceBasis.pdf
Old 08-12-2019, 06:29 PM
CAS

College: Ardnox
Favorite beer: The kind with alcohol

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrytuttle View Post