Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Old 11-27-2017, 10:18 PM
CAS SOA

Question Help me choose an internship?

Hey everyone,

I'm a sophomore in college, and I'll be taking my first exam in January, but I'm very committed to an actuarial career. I received an actuarial internship offer from a mid-size life insurance company, where I'll be working mostly with Excel. I'll be assigned to one specific department (either valuation, pricing, or modeling). The other offer I'm considering is with UnitedHealth Group, but with their tech branch, not insurance branch. I'll be working with databases and improving my knowledge of SQL (which I don't have much of an opportunity to study in school). The pay is higher and the internship is much closer to home, but that's not a big concern.

It seems like a no-brainer that I should go with the actuarial internship, but my career counselor told me that working with SQL could help me stand out, since everyone knows Excel these days. I'm also doing a co-op/internship in the fall of my junior year, so either way I'll have some actuarial experience before my junior summer internship. What should I do? I'm terrible at making decisions
Old 11-27-2017, 11:03 PM
Non-Actuary

I'd think most actuaries didn't know Excel before their first internship.

SQL is easy. Go actuarial.
Old 11-27-2017, 11:24 PM
CAS

College: Jamba Juice University
Favorite beer: AO Amber Ale

How are the locations? If one of them is some place fun, I'd pick the fun location.